Book Review : My heart and other black holes

18336965

  • Published:Feb 1oth,2015 by HarperCollins
  • Genre:YA
  • My Rating: 3.5 stars

BLURB FROM GOODREADS :  Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.

MY REVIEW:

“Sometimes I wonder if my heart is like a black hole–it’s so dense that there’s no room for light, but that doesn’t mean it can’t still suck me in.”

My heart and other black holes by Jasmine Warga is a story of a girl Aysel who wants to commit suicide but is too scared to do it alone,so she finds a boy on an website,Roman, who also wants to die and thus they plan to kill themselves together on a particular date by jumping off a cliff.

WHAT I LIKED:

The book deals with a very serious topic and it manages to give a healthy message to young minds who are troubled with suicidal thoughts and depression.It conveys through a beautiful story about trying and finding hope in midst of darkness.

I loved the plot and the events surrounding this story.The connection physics to the story and Aysel’s thoughts of linking dying to physics,I found really new and  innovative.

The writing was beautiful and easy.

The chemistry between Aysel and Roman was undoubtedly realistic and beautiful.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

The problem I have with the book is that it doesn’t really define depression well.Aysel whines about her sad empty life and complains how her mother and half sister don’t care for her but when they try to talk to her and they trying being nice she just shrugs them off!I mean they are trying but Aysel isn’t!

Then Roman comes in her life and they spend one night together camping,Aysel’s depression just vanishes away.

Depression is something that can’t be cured over one night

FAVORITE LINES.

You’re like a grey sky. You’re beautiful, even though you don’t want to be.”

‘He’s no longer the person I want to die with; he’s the person I want to be alive with.”

“Depression is like a heaviness that you can’t ever escape. It crushes down on you, making even the smallest things like tying your shoes or chewing on toast seem like a twenty-mile hike uphill. Depression is a part of you; it’s in your bones and your blood. If I know anything about it, this is what I know: It’s impossible to escape.”

Have you read this book?What are your thoughts?

Let me know below!

XXX

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review : My heart and other black holes

  1. I picked this book up last year because I was like, OMG THAT COVER IS SO PRETTY and that it had good ratings in Goodreads. But gosh, I agree with you! I extremely did not liked this book and I just wanted to cry because of the disappoinment. It portrayed depression as something so shallow, I remember a line here where Aysel says that she didn’t want to die with Roman anymore because she wants to live with him now. I WANTED TO THROW THE BOOK WHEN I READ THAT because depression isn’t just a light switch that you could just turn on or off any time.

    Anywaysss, great review! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

