Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout

So I FINALLY  read this book and I’m so so glad I did because I absolutely loved it!!

After you guys told me how amazing that book is in my Popular Books I Haven’t Read Post I picked it up and I enjoyed it so much.I read the whole book in a day  because it was THAT gripping.

So let’s get started.

  • AUTHOR:Jennifer L Armentrout
  • PUBLISHED: MAY 8TH,2012 BY Entangled Teen
  • MY RATING : 5 OUT OF 5 STARS!!

Goodreads summary:Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

MY REVIEW:

““I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect.” His eyes searched mine intently, and for a moment we stood there toe to toe. “The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness” – Daemon Black.

Do you love him already?

I’m talking about the Daemon Black because he is just amazing and such a badass Character.We will come to Daemon Later but first let me tell you this:

I loved obsidian and that’s not the big surprise.I was avoiding the book because it sounded so similar to Twilight and I wasn’t ready for that kinda drama but I was absolutely wrong because It was nothing like it and it totally surprised me.

Katy,or kitten?or kat? was a brilliant female character because she was strong,confident,sassy and courageous.Plus…She is a book blogger and I loved that about her,it was so relatable.She did get carried away whenever she was with Daemon but..hey I don’t blame her AT ALL.

One of the reasons I liked the book that much is that Daemon is exactly the male character I love to read about..the one who’s rough around the edges but really cares deep deep down.The one who acts bad but is actually good at heart…Just like…Aaron Warner (WHO HASN’T BEEN REPLACED YET)

The thing I loved most about him is how he was interested in Katy’s blog so much and even filmed a video with her (Happens in book two).He cared for her and protected her and even got a little jealous which was soooo cute.

SORRY BUT I CAN’T BE FORMAL IN THIS REVIEW,THERE WILL BE A LOT OF ‘CUTE,SWEET,SEXY AND BAD’ IN THIS POST.

The story was catchy and fast paced with  a lot of twists,turns and action with a hint of high school awesomeness.The writing was so easy and eloquent,I seriously loved every aspect of this book.

I gave it a five star and I did so because although it isn’t a life-changing-making-you-cry-leaving-an-impact-on-you book but It has a magical effect to it which leaves you craving for more.It’s surprising that an paranormal-alien read like this can still have so much strong plot and characters that stay with you for a long time or in the special case of Daemon black,never leaves you.

TEASER SCENE:

For a moment, I pretended. Not that we weren’t two different species, because I didn’t see him that way, but that we actually liked each other.

And then he shifted and rolled. I was on my back, and he was still on the move. His face burrowed into the space between my neck and shoulder, nuzzling. Sweet baby Jesus…Warm breath danced over my skin, sending shivers down my body. His arm was heavy against my stomach, his leg between mine, pushing up and up. Scorched air fled my lungs.

Daemon murmured in a language I couldn’t understand. Whatever it was, it sounded beautiful and soft. Magical. Unearthly.

I could’ve woken him up but for some reason I didn’t. The thrill of him touching me was far stronger than anything else.

His hand was on the edge of the borrowed shirt, his long fingers on the strip of exposed flesh between the hem on the shirt and the band of the worn pajama bottoms. And his hand inched up under the shirt, across my stomach, where it dipped slightly. My pulse went into cardiac territory. The tips of his fingers brushed my ribs. His body moved, his knee pressed against me.

I gasped.

Daemon stilled. No one moved. The clock on the wall ticked.

And I cringed.

 

THANK YOU,I’LL BE DOING THE REVIEW OF THE SECOND BOOK:ONYX,SOON.     

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked it!
    To be honest, the main reason I decided to finally get the book was because of the guy in the cover lol. I hate book covers with models, but this one is just too good to pass up. Anyway, I really liked the book too. However, I don’t like romance so I save these books for when I’m in the mood for some romance or something a little cheesy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen this book everywhere and still haven’t read it. After reading this, I’m sold. I’m going to grab a kindle copy now. Daemon sounds like Damon from TVD personality wise, except alien instead of vampire. Swoon. 😍 I can’t wait to read this. I have yet to read a book about aliens. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

