Harry Potter and the Cursed child|Book Talk

20160812_152738.jpg

 

This is a Book talk so it will obviously contain some HUGE spoilers,so If you have not yet read the book,go read it and then come back to read this post and discuss your views with me.For now,I just want to tell you that I LOVED this book and I give it 4.5 outta 5 stars.

With that being cleared,let’s start the discussion


Harry Potter and the cursed child was crazy,RIDICULOUS at times and it even got me angry but oh my god,I loved this book so so much!There are a lot of things that in my opinion brought the book down but just to be in that world again and to read about all these characters we have lived without for years gave me so many feels and ultimately satisfied my heart.This book gave me things and moments I didn’t even knew that I wanted to read about.Since this is a discussion I feel like it’s important to talk about all the aspects of the book and the different parts of this book because oh god,so much happened in it!

I have divided this post in parts according to what I loved in this book,what made me sad,what had me crying,what was crazy and also all the plot holes.

CRAZY/SURPRISING PARTS.

1.Crazy is actually the best adjective to describe this book in one word.The level of madness was so high!First of all,the rumour about Scorpius being a child of Voldemort’s was seriously so stupid that If it had been true I would have thrown the book at a wall! I mean,why,WHY?? would Astoria use the time turner and go back in time just to have sex with Voldemort to get a pure blood child when she literally can do that with any other pure blood.

2.Teen Boys are stupid.When Albus and Scorpius are all like okay,yeah we’ll just steal a time turner from the minister of magic and go back in time to save ROBERT PATTINSON,That’s a piece of cake!I was shouting at their stupidity because a.They don’t know anything about how it will affect the other things which in turn can cause bigger problems in the actual timeline and b.They were making bad decisions,messing up a timeline is never good.Learn from Barry Allen.

3.The Trolley With is insane.In fact that whole scene is so disturbing that I can’t even picture that in my head.Albus and Scorpius are on the top of the train and suddenly the Trolley witch appears and she’s like “YOU’RE NOT ALLOWED TO LEAVE THE HOGWARTS EXPRESS” then’s she’s slow walking with the trolley of sweets towards them and they jump anyways,but the point was,SERIOUSLY? A FAT OLD TROLLEY WITCH IS WHAT IS SUPPOSED TO STOP CHILDREN FROM RUNNING AWAY FROM HOGWARTS EXPRESS??WHOSE IDEA WAS THIS!

4.The whole scene in the Ministry of Magic where Albus,Scorpius and Delphi have transformed into Ron,Harry and Hermione respectively and Albus/Ron is trying to stop Hermione from entering her office was nuts.To stop Hermione,Albus said “I either want a baby or a vacation” THIS CRACKED ME UP AND I WAS LAUGHING SO HARD.And then Albus kisses Hermione who is her AUNT…WHAT???? NOT COOL.CRINGE.CRINGE.CRINGE.

The bookcase part was equally nuts but I won’t talk about it because I have some issues with that scene and I can’t quite picture that scene in my head because it’s confusing and fast.

MY FAVORITE PARTS/FUNNY PARTS/SAD PARTS.

1.Scorpius was so amazing in this book,he did agree with Albus on that Time turner idea but I think he was the one to fix everything and set things right.He was funny and he was kind hearted and I loved the way he tried to get along with Rose even though she ignored him.

2.So the kids turned the events upside down which was crazy but what I loved about it was that we got to see all the characters because of that in the alternate realities.I got so emotional when Scorpius meets Snape and he tells him about everything including how Harry named his son after him and then that part where Albus tells him that he’s dead in the actual reality,but then Snape’s like “Atleast I don’t marry Ron”.OH MY GOD I LAUGHED SO HARD,THAT WAS EPIC!!.I just loved seeing Snape,it was so satisfying and I got all teary-eyed.

3.Draco Malfoy.I never hated Malfoy,quite honestly,but In this book I LOVED him.I loved how we got to see this whole other side of him,I loved his relationship with Harry-that duel was on point!Then when Ginny comes to the kitchen she’s like ‘What did I miss?’.That whole scene was really funny.While they did argue in this book,ofcourse thier fights are a classic,I loved to see them team up and work to protect thier sons.I loved how they opened up to each other and that was one of my favorite scenes in that book.Also in that conversation when Draco says:It’s lonely being a Malfoy….My heart broke.I felt so so bad for him,just ahhhhh.

4.Harry seeing his parents die was the saddest thing in the whole darn book.I cried.I had to close the book to take a deep breath cause It was so overwhelming and emotional.

5.There is a scene where Hermione,Ron,Harry,Ginny,Draco and their kids are in the time when Harry’s parents are about to be killed and Harry has to take the polyjuice potion to transform into Voldemort because Delphi has to meet him,so Hermione as usual coordinates everything and tells everyone what to do including Malfoy.There’s a line that made my heart to all sorts of crazy things,and that line is:

Draco:Hermione Granger.I’m being bossed by Hermione Granger.(He smiles) and I am quite enjoying it.

I was smiling ear to ear because that single sentence made me so fricking happy.It was so much fun to read that part!!I can’t even-!!!

LEAST FAVORITE PARTS THAT MADE ME ANGRY

1.What was up with Harry Potter in this book?

He made me really really angry when he told Albus that he wished he wasn’t his son.SINCE WHEN HARRY POTTER BECAME SO RUDE TO Β SAY STUFF LIKE THAT AND THAT TOO TO HIS OWN CHILD???

I mean what Albus said had a logic.He didn’t want to be harry’s son because he has so much pressure and I understand that being Harry potter’s child is difficult but what Harry said was plain spiteful!

2.Harry insulting Minerva.

Again,how DARE he?How can he say to her that she doesn’t understand because she doesn’t have children.That is so rude and it made me really angry.I get that you’re the famous harry potter but have you forgotten who is she and how much has she dealt with!!!???

3.Where the hell were the other characters? Apart from the fact that Harry’s and Ron’s other children somehow weren’t important enough to be given a proper role in the book,where were the other side characters whom we eagerly wanted to see?Hagrid?Neville-I think we all learnt how important he is for the wizarding world but again..not important enough to be given a proper role.Luna?

Dont give excuses like ‘It was a play and it had to be short’ that doesn’t mean you’ll magically disappear important characters.

PLOT HOLES.

1.Someone tell me that how is it possible that Bellatrix somehow managed to have sex with Voldemort in the chaos of war and got pregnant Β and had a baby without anyone even knowing it.Also,Bellatrix’s husband must have been really insane to tell her alleged daughter to go and fulfill the new Prophecy to bring back her demon father-the man whom his wife had an affair with.COOL.GREAT.AWESOME.TOTALLY LEGIT.

2.The whole concept of the time turner made very little sense.What we learnt in Prisoner of Azkaban about time turners totally opposed this new weird ones.How did Albus and Scorpius reach the Triwizard tournament exactly 5 mins before it was about to start?And I thought that to go back an hour in time you had to turn the switch or whatever of the time turner 1 time,so if they went like many years back,should’t they should have turned it many times?


Even though I did criticize this book, I loved this book a lot.I didn’t love it as much as I love the original Harry Potter Books but yes-I do really really love it,it’s definitely a new favorite.

SO THAT’S IT FOR TODAY’S BOOK TALK,JOIN ME IN THIS CONVERSATION ABOUT THE NEW HARRY POTTER BOOK.SHARE YOUR VIEWS WITH ME AND WE’LL ALL HAVE A NICE PLEASANT CHAT!

Love,

Anushka.

8 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed child|Book Talk

  1. A lot of liberties were taken with time turner and polyjuice potion. It felt like the time travel rules were made along the way during the scripting..
    Yea, Harry insulting Minerva was a bit of a shocker.. but I just rationalized it by “Well, it is not the real-time Harry, so I am just going to think of him as a fake one”..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this reminded me of all the crazy parts, now I can’t stop laughing because you’re right the play was crazy. From Voldemort having a daughter with Bellatrix to the Trolley Witch in the Hogwarts express, insane. Somehow I still loved it though haha.

    Like

  3. Himself pre-ordered the book and abandoned it 10 pages in. I haven’t gone near it, because it seemed like the red-haired stepchild of the original series and I didn’t want to compromise my strong happy memories of them. But then, I’m cowardly like that:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

