Please Read XX

Please Read XX Living In Pages

This is going to be a little different from what I usually post, but I just felt the need to write about this chain of events that has been happening in my school. Please note that these are my views and I certainly do not wish to offend anyone. Please read with an open mind.

Last year in July, a batch mate jumped from the third floor in an attempt to commit suicide. On this Friday, another student of class 10th jumped from the same floor. Both ended up getting severely hurt and they broke their ribs. The reasons for their actions does not at all justify their act. One jumped because he got suspended, another because his girlfriend dumped him. Only because of that reason. I’m not being insensitive, not at all. But what will you think when the guy posts a selfie on FB the next day, smiling, with the caption. “Broken ribs with a broken heart. Please pray for me that I get well.” I’m sorry but he clearly did it for attention. And In no way is that acceptable. The gloom that had surrounded our school on both the days was heart breaking. Half of the people were upset, half of them were crying and the school authority had to manage a lot of things. When I saw that post, my blood began to boil. We all had been terrified of what may happen, we were worried and that guy on the other hand was posting stupid pictures with inane statuses. I do have sympathy, but it’s hard to sympathize for someone who did something really terrible and all that for just a girl, without thinking of the effects it will have on his family or his friends or that girl who was petrified to death after she was questioned by the school and the police. People have worse problems and worse lives, but they live. Some don’t have shelter, money or food, some have lost their loved ones, some have severe health issues and some don’t even have a whole functioning body. But they live. And so can you. I only mean to say, is that please think, once twice and thrice before doing any such thing. I know that sometimes everything seems the end of the world, and all you can feel is that strange bad heavy feeling in your chest, and you want to get rid of that feeling forever. But suicide is not the solution. Yes, it is an easy solution but not the right one. Think about the ones who love you, would you want to snatch the smile off their faces?  Some of you may know that I’m a HUGE fan of Sherlock Holmes, in the lying detective (One of the episodes of season 4) he said something really strong about taking your own life in this scene:

Sherlock - Series 4 - The Lying Detective Very emotional and deep considering Sherlock is the one saying this. He knows he hurt John by the Fall. #TLD:

“Taking your own life. Interesting expression, Taking it from who? Once it’s  over, it’s not you who’ll miss it. Your own death is something that happens to someone else. Your life is not your own. Keep your hands off it.”

lets-talk

I would love to know your views on this subject. And I really do hope that I didn’t offend anyone. Have a lovely day. Stay strong. XD

13 thoughts on “Please Read XX

  1. I think you raise a really interesting point about an incredibly difficult issue. I don’t know how the young man feels, but what I would say is this – you’re right – the people left behind are always the ones that suffer. BUT to have got to a point where he flung himself out of the window thinking it would be his last act on this earth would denote a particular pitch of suffering that is extreme. It doesn’t mean that it was the right thing to do, or that it wasn’t hurtful and ultimately wasteful.

    I fully appreciate your own pain and indignation at what you see is a pointless attention-seeking act. However, he didn’t think he’d survive – and once he had… he’s in a hard place. He now has to face up to the pain he caused. That grin could be a rictus of humiliation and misery. Perhaps you could find it in your heart to offer up a prayer for him, along with all the other people suffering because of his action? Meanwhile, I’ll be thinking of all of you. Take carex

    Like

  2. Well it takes many kinds to make the world. Suicide might not be the greatest option (if at all it is an option) but then who are we to judge? Some might not be as strong as most others to face hurdles. I only hope they’ve learnt their lesson and are growing up to be better and stronger individuals.

    Like

    1. Yes, you’re right, I thought about what others have said as well, maybe he did really had suffered a lot and maybe he couldn’t take it anymore. I hope so too, that they understand how precious life is and start living. Anyway, thanks for your input. I really appreciate it. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful post. I’m so sorry you’re going through this at your school. I think it’s a very complicated issue, because you can’t excuse behaviour like that, and you don’t want to encourage it. But you also have to think that even if someone attempts to take their own life purely for attention, they’re probably not a very healthy, happy person to get to that point? It’s such a tricky thing.

    As someone who has struggled with anxiety and depression and even attempted to take my own life in the past, I am the very first person to advocate for being sensitive to mental illness. But I think in some ways we’ve moved to a point where we are so afraid of being insensitive that we fail to be clear enough. So, let’s be clear: THERE IS NEVER AN EXCUSE TO TAKE ONE’S OWN LIFE. IT IS ALWAYS WRONG. It is the cowardly thing to do. It’s not romantic and it’s not something to be glorified in any way, not even in the interest of sensitivity.

    We also need to make it clear, especially to young people, who are very impulsive and often find it difficult to express themselves, that even if you don’t succeed, the fact that you even made the attempt is hurtful and can devastate those you love. I know a woman who irreparably destroyed her relationship with her family because of her frequent attempts. It’s very serious.

    A suicide attempt, even (or perhaps especially) when done for attention, is a desperate call for help. We can be understanding of that while still making it very clear that there are more responsible, less destructive ways to ask for that help.

    I really loved that quote from Sherlock, and I’m glad you brought it into this discussion. Another quote that always gets me is this one from Les Miserables: “The moment suicide hurts your nearest and dearest, it’s known as murder.” There’s also a Twenty One Pilots song called “Friend, Please” that gives a similar idea: “Friend, please don’t take your life away from me.”

    I think these are important messages to spread. No matter how bad things are, it’s not your decision to make, because it will affect everyone else more than it will ever affect you. Those who loved you are the ones who have to live in the aftermath, and they’re the ones who are going to be wracked with guilt for the rest of their life, trying to figure out what they missed, what more they could have done.

    Thank you for sharing your school’s experience and opening up such an important discussion. This was a very important post. ❤

    Like

    1. I’m so grateful for this comment. ❤ You are absolutely right in every way, taking one's life is ALWAYS wrong because it has a deeper impact on the ones who love you. Yes, a act of suicide for attention is a cry for help. But nobody really sees that, do they? Until and unless our society sees someone is physical agony, they're not convinced that they need help. I wish we could see for ourselves and deliver help before something happens. However, yes, there is no right excuse for suicide. I'm glad that you shared your own life experience, and I also am very happy that you have grown into a wonderful and happy human without suicidal tendencies, hopefully. Those two quotes are so strong, I love them! Thank YOU for this lovely comment, it was very much needed. Stay strong. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I lost a friend and boyfriend to suicide in 2006. It was hard.
    I have read The Program series which deals with this problem on a dystopian scale. The highest rate of suicide right now statistically is girls aged 10-14. That is appalling.
    If you ever need to talk to a survivor of a loved one who has committed suicide, I openly welcome you to reach out to me. It is tough to go through alone. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, I’m so sorry to hear about that. I understand how hard that must have been. I haven’t read the series you mentioned but It sounds quite good. I thank you very much for your support, if I feel down or I feel the need to talk to someone about it in the near future, I would love to have a nice char with you on Twitter, or wherever you prefer. ❤

      Like

  5. I understand what you are talking about on so many levels :/ There are alot of people whom I am in personal contact of that sometimes I wonder if they are just doing it for attention and to hurt other people.

    Take care of yourself and then again who are we to judge.

    If you want to check out my revamped and consequently pretty empty blog : http://www.weareallcritics.wordpress.com ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

